Pre-school Education

The Ministry of Education (MOE) is developing the Nurturing Early Learners (NEL) Curriculum, a comprehensive tool kit of kindergarten curricular resources to support early childhood educators in Singapore. The NEL Curriculum comprises three components: the NEL Framework, the NEL Educators' Guide, and teaching and learning resources, which are being developed. As part of the NEL Curriculum, there will also be a parallel set of resources to support early childhood educators in the teaching and learning of MTLs.

The Ministry of Education (MOE) will set up 15 kindergartens in the next few years. Of these, five will start operating and enrol Kindergarten 1 (K1) children in January 2014. All five kindergartens will be set up within HDB heartlands - four located in primary schools, namely Blangah Rise Primary School, Dazhong Primary School, Farrer Park Primary School and Punggol View Primary School; and one in the community at Block 489C Tampines Street 45. The kindergartens will operate two sessions in the morning and afternoon, and each session will be a four-hour programme. For more information on the kindergartens, please visit

The Early Childhood Development Agency (ECDA) has been set up on 1 April as an agency jointly overseen by the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) and MOE. The agency will oversee the regulation and development of kindergarten and child and infant care programmes for children below the age of six. It will also facilitate the training and development of early childhood educators, and conduct public outreach activities for parents to learn about their child's early development. Information regarding these matters is available at